SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WEST DE PERE REGULAR BOARD MEETING WESTWOOD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL MAY 17, 2023 5:30 PM

Board members present: Fuss, Van Deurzen, Borley, Van Den Heuvel, Dorn

Board members excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM by Board President Fuss followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Fuss stated that the area news media had been notified of the meeting as required by open meeting law and state statutes.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to accept the agenda. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board recognized the following students; High School Forensics for bringing home 12 golds, 3 silvers and a bronze at the State meet. Coach Natalie Buhl, and team members Jessica Gauthier and Lauren Rastall were in attendance to represent the team. The Board congratulated them on a job well done. Whitney Eidahl, Occupational Therapist at Westwood Elementary, presented to the Board a presentation about the motor lab that was recently created at Westwood. She was joined by Daniele Radtke, 2nd Grade Teacher, and Patty McCormick, Physical Therapist. They explained the program and it's benefits for students. The Board thanked them for the information and all their hard work to provide amazing opportunities for students.

The meeting was opened to the floor to enable district residents to bring items of general concern to the attention of the Board. No concerns were presented.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the April 12, 2023 regular meeting minutes be approved as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills to Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built be approved. Ryan Van Den Heuvel abstained. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills be approved excluding bills from Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Old Business

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to adopt the following policies as previously presented:

- 3155 Fund Balances
- 5400.01 Equal Educational Opportunities (reviewed-no changes)
- 5400.9 Enrollment and Placement of Homeless Children and Youth

Voting Yes:5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

New Business

Committee Chair, Scott Borley gave a verbal update regarding the Finance Committee Meeting.

Committee Chair, Barbara Van Deurzen reviewed the May 10, 2023 Curriculum and Policy Committee report.

Superintendent Krueger conducted the nominations for the president process.

Scott Borley nominated Jenni Fuss for President. There being no further nominations, it was moved by

Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to elect Jenni Fuss President. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Jenni Fuss assumed control of the meeting as Board President.

Barbara Van Deurzen nominated Ryan Van Den Heuvel for Vice-President. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to elect Ryan Van Den Heuvel Vice-President. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Scott Borley nominated Barbara Van Deurzen for Clerk. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to elect Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Ryan Van Den Heuvel nominated Scott Borley for Treasurer. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to elect Scott Borley Treasurer. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried. Discussion centered on committee appointments.

President Fuss agreed to serve as delegate and legislative contact to the Wisconsin Association of School Boards and Barbara Van Deurzen agreed to serve as alternate delegate.

President Fuss appointed Scott Borley to continue as the CESA 7 Representative.

Board committee appointments were made as follows:

Budget/Finance Review Policy & Curriculum

Scott Borley (Chair) Barbara Van Deurzen (Chair)

Jason Dorn Ryan Van Den Heuvel

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to confirm Amundsen Davis [Robert Burns] as our legal firm for the 203-2024 and (CLA) CliftonLarsonAllen LLP as our auditors for 2023-2024. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Scott Borley abstains. Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen that the Press Times be named as the official newspaper for the posting of legal notices and minutes. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the presented financial depositories for 2023-2024. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Mrs. Corey Wollin, advisor to the Youth Apprenticeship Program at the High School, shared with the Board an overview of the program and student participation.

Amy LaPierre, Director of Curriculum, along with several math teachers in the district, presented to the Board their recommendation for a new K-6 math curriculum.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the K-6 Math Curriculum/Materials as recommended. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to approve the renewal of the vision and dental insurance as recommended by administration. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the school fees for the 2023-2024 school year as recommended by administration. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve all applications of resident students to attend a nonresident district and deny all 4K-12 applications to attend the School District of West De Pere for the 2023-2024 school year due to no space available with the exception of those siblings guaranteed enrollment per Board policy #5008. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the CESA 7 contract for the 2023-2024 school year as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve staffing items as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board was presented with various reports and communications: such as updates, various thank you's, invitations, and calendar items. Discussion Followed.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley at 6:30 PM that the Board adjourn into closed session as previously stated. Voting Yes: Van Den Heuvel, Dorn, Borley, Fuss, Van Deurzen Voting No: None Motion carried.

The Board reconvened at 7:56 PM.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen at 7:57 PM that the meeting be adjourned. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk